353 Carondelet consists of 2 four-story brick masonry party wall commercial buildings constructed in 1850 as part of a block of identical structures known historically as “Union Row.” In a 1958 renovation, the two buildings were combined and the current Mid-Cenury Modern slipcover was added to the Carondelet and Perdido street facades creating its iconic and memorable appearance. As a result, the building landed on the national register.
The slip cover consists of black porcelain enamel faced metal panels punctuated by vertical strips of aluminum windows and tan recessed spandrel panels. Exterior renovation will include replacing the deteriorated metal panels and windows and adding new windows to increase natural light on the upper floors, however the windows will be tinted in a way that resembles the historic aluminum windows.
The first floor former bank spaces dates to the 1958 renovation and consists of a large open banking area with a curved marble clad counter, wood slate office dividers, and terrazzo floors which are all maintained. Glass wall partitions will be added to create offices while maintaining light distribution to the windowless center of the building.
The second floor will be finished out as an executive office and will consist of offices, break out work spaces, board room and break room. The development of the office floor plan was driven by the need to provide the associates with the privacy needed for day to day operation while maximizing light distribution through the space. The mix of transparent and solid wood veneered panels accomplished this while maintaining an executive aesthetic. The need for a quick, private meeting space generated a floating volume of meeting/flex space. Holding the walls off the ceiling creates a light shelf for additional natural light to transfer to the rear of the space.
The 3rd and 4th floor will be ready for future tenants.